Dorothy Must Die – By Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die – By Danielle Paige

 

 

DorothyMustDie_thumb

Publisher: Harper Collins

Date Published: April 1st 2014

Pages: 452

 

 

 

Blurb:

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Review:

This book has been out a while now and I’ve only heard good things about it. With glowing recommendations from the book blog, book tube, and general community, how could I not give this book a shot?

We all know the classic tale of Dorothy and the Yellow Brick Road… Well this book takes that story, throws it in a big Tornado and spits it out all topsy turvy. Years after the classic tale took place, Amy Gumm  and her trailer lands smack bang in Oz.

The title of this book intrigued me to no end, we all remember Dorothy as the cute little Judy Garland character who is as sweet as sugarplums. Well, the new Dorothy is nothing like that. She is mean, vindictive, and well, must die.

Wicked is good and good is wicked… and you just don’t know who Amy should trust in this crazy little world. The world building is fantastic, and it is so interesting reading about the wasteland that Oz has become.

I give this book a 4.5/5 stars, go out and pick up this book now… It will change your perspective on the magical land of Oz.

Leave a Reply

