May Wrap Up

May Wrap Up

This month I had a holiday where I travelled for a week. That week I read two books and that was mostly on the flights. Otherwise, I have read quite a variety this month. I completed 18 novels, 1 comic, and 2 audiobooks.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender – Leslye Walton

image

It took a while to get used to the prose in this novel. Once this was accomplished I appreciated the flow of the story was so elegant and disconcerting that you cannot help but be engrossed in this novel.

Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins

image

This is the conclusion of Stephanie Perkins’ companion novels. These books present lovely contemporary stories in beautiful locations… what more could you ask for?

The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead

image

What an interesting piece of work. This combines the Victorian Era with Frontier Life. I was utterly enchanted with the first half of the book and then had to take a second to adjust to the drastic change in setting. Overall, it was very enjoyable.

What We Saw – Aaron Hartzler 

image

This book had such a strong message that I was enthralled from the get go. This was the Booksplosion Book of the Month for May.

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J Maas 

image

This was a book that I have been meaning to read for quite a while now. I picked it up as part of my personal reading challenge for this month. I am so glad I have read this and am eagerly anticipating the sequel.

The Hidden Oracle – Rick Riordan 

image

This was the Perustopia Book Club Pick of the Month. I have only just started reading Rick Riordan, but I must say I am thoroughly enjoying his works.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E Smith 

image

This was an enjoyable quick read for me. It was quite the standard contemporary romance. It was just what I needed at the time after my prior read.

Some Girls Bite – Chloe Neill 

image

This was my TBR Jar Pick for May. Doesn’t everyone like a good vampire read once in a while? I know I do.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling

image

I decided this month that I would start re-reading the Harry Potter series as I had recently purchased the Hardback Box Set with gorgeous covers. I love this series and always enjoy a re-read.

Dreamology – Lucy Keating 

image

Another Book Club I came across was “The Book Bound Society” this was the first book of the month they were doing so I decided to join. I was looking forward to this book anyway. It was a sweet little read.

The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson

image

The YA Chronicles Box delivered this gem to my doorstep this month. I have only read two of Morgan Matson’s books, but I have to say it’s been a pleasure. These books are adorable. Full of such realistic relationships, from friendships, to family to romantic. And just look at all those cute dogs.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor 

image

Wow, I never saw that ending coming… I need more!

Four – Veronica Roth

image

This is an anthology of short stories from the Divergent world. Having recently completed the trilogy I could not resist finishing off with this world completely by having a look at the world from Four’s point-of-view.

The One Who Got Away – Caroline Overington 

image

My local bookstore has a book of the month. This was May’s. I picked it up and gave it a go. I didn’t entirely fall in love with this book, but I did feel empathetic for the twisted family dynamics.

Stardust – Neil Gaiman 

image

Who can resist reading something by Neil Gaiman? I have seen the movie adaptation, and when I saw the book at my local bookstore I just could not resist. I couldn’t help but notice the different between the movie and the book. Overall, it was a beautifully written piece.

Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland – Lewis Carroll 

image

I just couldn’t resist a trip down the Rabbit Hole whilst on my holiday. It’s always a pleasure to pick up a Classic. I try to spread them out as I have been known to get overwhelmed with the Classic’s.

Undead and Unreturnable – Mary Janice Davidson 

image

I am continuing this series month by month. I love these books, they are such a quick read. Mary Janice Davidson’s writing style is so unique and wonderful. I love Betsy’s quirky, sarcastic dialogue.

Night Pleasures – Sherrilyn Kenyon

image

This is another re-read for me. Sherrilyn’s works are full of Greek Myths and romance… just what the doctor ordered.

I read one comic this month and that was:

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal – G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona 

image

I haven’t tried a comic before, but if Ms. Marvel is any indication then I will be sure to pick up more. The artwork as amazing and I loved the superhero aspect mixed with a “normal” teen.

I continued listening to audiobooks this month, continuing the series.

Mine to Possess – Nalini Singh 

image

Oh yeah, this series is awesome.

Hostage to Pleasure – Nalini Singh 

image

I swear, this series is definitely worth picking up.

So, that is what I have completed in the month of May. I was an enormous month. I didn’t realise how big until I did this wrap up post… but, just… Wow.

Leave a Reply

