Read-O Rama Wrap Up

readOrama

 

So, Read-O-Rama is officially finished and I am very happy to say I completed all the assigned challenges…

 

This list will be in order of challenges I completed. I started this read-a-thon with:

 

 

Read a book of Short Stories:

 

Grim – Edited by Christine Johnson

 

gim1

I started with Grim as I am quite obsessed with fairytales. This turned out to be the third book i finished as I read a couple of short stories a day.

Read a book with RAMA in the title:

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – By J.K. Rowling

 

chamber of secrets

I needed to read this to continue on my Harry Potter re-read… when I saw that I could make RAMA out of the title it was fate. Of course this book was excellent… it’s J.K. Rowling.

Read a book with music:

 

Maybe Someday – by Colleen Hoover

maybe someday

This was an excellent choice for this read-a-thon. I immediately thought of this book when I saw this challenge as it was on the top of my TBR pile. Also, I fly through Colleen’s book, she is Queen of New Adult.

Read a Buddy Read:

 

Illuminae – by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

 

Illuminae-Cover

This was buddy read with @reading_annie88 on twitter. I haven’t had a chance to catch up with her about her thoughts on Illuminae, but I enjoyed this much more than I thought I would. The mixed media in this book had me apprehensive but there was no need, it was excellent.

Read a book with a Person of Colour Main Character:

 

Soundless – by Richelle Mead

 

soundless

This book had me pretty up in the air as I have read and seen some bad reviews of this book. I didn’t think it was bad. It’s not the best I read but I would rate it a solid 3.75/5.

Read a book with a One-Word Title:

 

Cinder – by Marissa Meyer

 

cinder

I have been trying to get to this book for ages now but for one reason or another haven’t gotten to it. This read-a-thon was exactly the kick in the butt I needed. It is excellent… but that ending…I need more!

Read a book to movie / TV adaptation:

 

The Hunger Games – by Suzanne Collins

 

hunger games

This was the final book I read for this read-a-thon and I wasn’t sure I would get to it, but I flew through Cinder. This is a re-read for me and the Booksplosion Book of the Month. So, two birds, one stone.

The final challenge was:

Read 7 Books:

This was quite ambitious, but I did it, yes I did. (Insert victory dance here). I completed all of the challenges.

I enjoyed this read-a-thon so much. I particularly liked the the level of interaction we had with the hosts and the other participants on Twitter. I will definitely do this Read-a-thon again if it repeats.

Leave a Reply

