Review – The Kitchen Boy by Robert Alexander

The Kitchen Boy by Robert Alexander

 

the kitchen boy

 

Publisher: Penguin Books

Date Published: 27th of January 2004

Pages: 229

 

 

 

Blurb:

 

Drawing from decades of work, travel, and research in Russia, Robert Alexander re-creates the tragic, perennially fascinating story of the final days of Nicholas and Alexandra Romanov as seen through the eyes of their young kitchen boy, Leonka. Now an ancient Russian immigrant, Leonka claims to be the last living witness to the Romanovs’ brutal murders and sets down the dark secrets of his past with the imperial family. Does he hold the key to the many questions surrounding the family’s murder? Historically vivid and compelling, The Kitchen Boy is also a touching portrait of a loving family that was in many ways similar, yet so different, from any other.

 

 

 

Review: 

 

I received this book as a “Blind Date With A Book”. Where I did not know what the book would be until I received it. For more information, have a look at my post here. I have been interested in the Romanovs, so then the key words for this book said “The Last Tzar” I decided I should give this a go.

 

This book follows the last days of the Romanov family through the eyes of a boy at the house where they stayed. I can honestly say I did not know anything about this book before this and I would not have thought to have picked this up.

 

This book actually drew me in as I was told the story of this family who faced the worst . The story went through the deaths of the Romanov’s in that basement and I had to take a minute after reading this. The writing in this book is our main character recording his history so he can pass it on to his granddaughter in the event of his death. This worked really well and I was very invested in what happened to this boy and his descendants.

 

I was surprisingly impressed with this book and gave it a rating of 4.25/5. I am definitely going to try Blind Date With A Book again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

