JUNE WRAP UP

Monthly Reading Wrap Up

 

So, we are now half way through the year and it is time for another monthly reading  wrap up. I have dubbed June “The Month of Read-a-thons”. I decided to complete my first read-a-thon this month and from there it grew. I associate this is the massive, ginormous amount I read this month.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes 

Format: Paperback

 

 

me_before_you_book_large

Review

 

Ruby Red by Kerstin Geir

Format: Paperback

 

rubyred

Review

 

Branded By Fire by Nalini Singh 

Format: Audiobook

 

branded by fire

Loving re-reading this series in another format.

 

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Format: Paperback

 

final empire

A great fantasy novel that I’m surprised I hadn’t picked up earlier.

 

Every Day by David Levithan

Format: Paperback

 

every day

This was the group book for this months “AYearAThon” Read-a-thon. I really enjoyed this and it was something different to what I’ve read before.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapians Agenda by Becky Albertalli

 Format: Paperback 

 

simon v

A contemporary coming-of-age story with LGBT+ themes.

 

Ms Marvel Volume 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt & Adrian Allophone

Format: Comic/Graphic Novel

 

 

ms marvel 2

This is a really good comic series that I am really enjoying.

 

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Format: Paperback

 

 

Illuminae-Cover

Review

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling

Format: Hardcover

 

 

chamber of secrets

I am slowly making myself through the Harry Potter series. Excellent.

 

Grim edited by Christine Johnson

Format: Paperback

 

 

gim1

A collection of stories retelling fairytales. I enjoyed some of the stories, others had less sway over me.

 

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Format: Paperback

 

 

maybe someday

Another fantastic contemporary read by Colleen Hoover.

Soundless by Richelle Mead

Format: Paperback

 

soundless

I was walking into this half expecting to be disappointed because of all the bad hype. I actually didn’t mind this book, it was a good stand alone.

 

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Format: Paperback

 

cinder

Review

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Format: Paperback

 

 

hunger games

A re-read as part of the Booksplosion Book Club.

 

Blaze of Memory by Nalini Singh

Format: Audiobook

 

 

blaze of memory

Continuing this series in audiobook form.

 

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Format: Paperback

 

 

talon

I have been looking forward to reading a book about dragons and this did not disappoint.

 

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

Format: Paperback

 

 

QueenofHearts-EpicReads

An interesting retelling of the Queen of Hearts.

 

The Dry by Jane Harper

Format: Paperback

 

 

the dry

This was my local bookstores Book of the Month and I read it as part of the TBR Takedown Read-a-thon. I found that there was a lot of information in the bulk of the book that I didn’t particularly want or need and this took away from the book.

The Kitchen Boy by Robert Alexander

Format: Paperback

 

 

the kitchen boy

Review

 

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Format: Paperback

 

 

crown of midnight

I am loving this series so much. This book just added to my anticipation for the rest of the series.

 

Night Embrace by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Format: E-Book

 

 

night embrace

Continuing on with the Dark-Hunters series.

You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan

Format: Paperback

 

 

you know me well

This was the book in  The YA Chronicles June Box.

 

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Format: E-Book

 

 

distance

A cute contemporary read.

 

The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Format: Paperback

 

the problem with forever

This book really gave me all the feels.

 

Undead and Unpopular by Mary Janice Davidson

Format: E-Book

 

 

undead and unpopular

This is a continuing vampire series with a snarky humour that I love.

 

 

The Stats:

 

Format:

 

Paperback: 18

Hardback: 01

E-Book: 03

Audiobook: 02

Graphic Novel/ Comic: 01

 

Author:

 

Male: 03

Female: 18

Male and Female (Co-author): 04

 

Genre: 

 

Fantasy: 07

Contemporary: 06

Dystopian: 01

Paranormal: 04

Magical Realism: 01

Sci-Fi: 02

Retelling: 02

Thriller: 01

Historical Fiction: 01

 

 

Total Read: 25

 

That’s the end of my wrap-up for reading in June 2016. Have you read any of these books? Is there anything you would recommend for me to read? Please feel free to comment below.

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

