REVIEW: INTO THE DIM BY JANET B. TAYLOR

into the dim

 

Publisher:  HMH Books

 

Date Published: 1st March 2016

 

Pages: 428

 

 

Blurb: 

 

When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission . . . or the key to Hope’s undoing.

 

Review:

 

Firstly, I would like to comment that I listened to this book via audiobook and this review will be based on that experience.

 

This book was dubbed as “Outlander for Teens”, I am very interested in Outlander and really need to read it, therefore I had to try this. I’m glad I did. I really enjoyed this book.  This is a wild romp through London in the Middle Ages.

 

The buildup for the main plot of the book was just enough for me. This is a time travelling book and therefore, I wanted to get into the time travel as soon as possible. I really appreciated the motivations of the protagonists. I could understand why they were doing what they were doing and I was really rooting for them.

 

There was one element of the plot regarding a male character that I had picked out from the first time we were introduced to him. But then, later in the book, I was thrown for a tailspin as there was a plot twist I was not expecting whatsoever… Wow.

 

This book went back to one time period in particular and I felt it was really well researched. I really felt like I was in this world with the characters. The main element that really sold it for me was the descriptions of scent. There was descriptions of what things smelled like, and, most of the time it wasn’t pretty.

 

I was not knowledgeable about the time period whatsoever. After this book I am keen to do some research. These characters meet up with some major historical figures… Kings & Queens.

 

Before I finish up I am going to quickly talk about Hope. Hope could at times be kind of whiny but I understand why and where she is coming from. Hope has a fear of tight, small, dark places and she seems to have to go into places that meet this description a lot in this book. That poor girl.

 

There was multiple times when I thought the book was going to conclude, and then, our protagonists are thrown back into danger, I was almost cursing my car on multiple occasions… just let them be safe already! I am looking forward to the second book as there are so many loose ends that I want tied up. This book is getting a 4.25/5 rating. 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

