REVIEW: A KISS IN TIME BY ALEX FLINN

 

kiss in time

 

 

Publisher: Harper Teen

 

Date Published: 28th April 2009

 

Pages: 371

 

alb-divider

 

Blurb:

 

Talia fell under a spell…Jack broke the curse.

I was told to beware the accursed spindle, but it was so enchanting, so hypnotic…

I was looking for a little adventure the day I ditched my tour group. But finding a comatose town, with a hot-looking chick asleep in it, was so not what I had in mind.

I awakened in the same place but in another time—to a stranger’s soft kiss.

I couldn’t help kissing her. Sometimes you just have to kiss someone. I didn’t know this would happen.

Now I am in dire trouble because my father, the king, says I have brought ruin upon our country. I have no choice but to run away with this commoner!

Now I’m stuck with a bratty princess and a trunk full of her jewels…The good news: My parents will freak!

Think you have dating issues? Try locking lips with a snoozing stunner who turns out to be 316 years old. Can a kiss transcend all—even time?

 

alb-divider

 

Review: 

 

I love fairytale retellings… what I liked most about this book is that it takes the basics of the fairytale and then asks… what happens after Happily Ever After?

I loved the real life situations that Talia has to face. She goes to a high school party and the beach and even tries to model. These are all pretty much typical things for a teenage girl, but with the added bonus of being out of her century.

Meryl was one of my favourite characters. As the sister of Jack, she was a typical pre-teen who loved manga and was very introverted. Picture perfect characters are not believable for me. I enjoy reading about flawed and realistic characters and all the characters in this book are very flawed and realistic.

The villain of this books thoroughly unlikable. I liked the fact that she was given a motivation for why she had placed the curse and a backstory for her character. Characters are not enjoyable when they are flat and two-dimensional.

Finally, the plot of the book. The overall plot of the book was predictable, but what I enjoyed was the interactions in between the major plot points.

A wild ride for a 300 year old Princess through modern day times. Rating: 4.5/5.

 

alb-divider

 

Have you read A Kiss In Time? What did you think?

 

Keep Calm and Read On,

 

Kati

Leave a Reply

