UNBOXING: THE YA CHRONICLES JANUARY 2017 BOX

 

image

The YA Chronicles is an Australian subscription service that delivers a new release YA book and 3-5 bookish goodies each month. The box itself costs $29.99 AUD plus shipping. I have been subscribing to this box since February 2016 and my love for this box has not waned. Rebecca and Alison are the creators of this box and they are great with interacting with subscribers on social media sites such as Instagram and Twitter. Each month there is a theme for the box. I have purchased this box with my own money and my opinion on the contents are my own. The January theme was:

alb-divider

DID SOMEONE SAY FANTASY?

alb-divider

image

When the box is first opened I can see red tissue paper which is wrapping up all the items neatly.

image

The first item out of the box has me so excited. This is a replica of the ring from Lord of the Rings and it is on a chain to wear as a necklace. For a fantasy themed box this is an excellent item to include.

image

image

The next item is this double sided watercolour bookmark based on The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Steifvater. I love the look of this bookmark, it is beautiful. I have The Raven Cycle on my TBR and have been meaning to get to it for a while now. This bookmark may just be the motivation I need.

image

The next item is an art print based off of A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab which is another excellent fantasy series. this art print features a quote from the book and looks stunning, it may take a place on my book shelf.

image

image

The next items are these two fantasy themes art prints. They do not appear to be from any book series but they are lovely pieces of art.

image

The final item in the box before the book is a bonus item. The ladies at The YA Chronicles have included a copy of the Penguin Teen Australia Super-Proof 2017 in every box. I was one of 14 people lucky enough to receive the 2016 one in a box last year and I really enjoyed reading some snippets of books that were due to come out. I am looking forward to seeing what Penguin has in store for readers in 2017 and if there is anything that catches my eye.

alb-divider

image

It is finally time for the book for the month and this month the book is

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

I am Henrietta Howel. The first female sorcerer. The prophesied one. Or am I?

Henrietta Howel can burst into flames. When she is brought to London to train with Her Majesty’s sorcerers, she meets her fellow sorcerer trainees, young men eager to test her powers and her heart. One will challenge her. One will fight for her. One will betray her. As Henrietta discovers the secrets hiding behind the glamour of sorcerer life, she begins to doubt that she’s the true prophesied one. With battle looming, how much will she risk to save the city–and the one she loves?

alb-divider

Every month there is a Spoilers Card explaining all the items and a customised bookmark included in the box. Each month they are the same general design, but different colours.

image

image

image

image

alb-divider

image

That is all for the January 2017 The YA Chronicles Box. This was a great box and I loved the art prints. I am in awe of the necklace and cannot wait to thumb through the Super-Proof. The book itself is one I am going to aim to pick up soon as well as The Raven Cycle.

What did you think of this box? Do you subscribe to The YA Chronicles or any other bookish subscription service?

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

