READING CHALLENGES UPDATE – JANUARY 2017

 

book

 

I am going to update my reading challenges to keep track of how I am traveling and if I am keeping up with my reading challenges in these monthly posts.

alb-divider

 

Netflix and Books Challenge:

 

I have been keeping up with watching some of my favourite shows on Netflix. I have been watching four of the shows I had on my TBR for this challenge: Gilmore Girls, Jane the Virgin, Full House and Shadowhunters. So of yet I have not started any of the book I have selected for my TBR.

 

alb-divider

 

Pages Read Challenge:

 

This is all about keeping track of my Page Count for the year. My goal is to read 60, 000 pages this year. In the month of January I read 9, 382 pages.

 

alb-divider

 

Retellings Reading Challenge:

 

I love a good retelling so this challenge shouldn’t be a worry for me. My aim is to read 12+ retellings in 2017, that is one a month at least. In the month of January I read 5 retellings.

Cleo by Lucy Coats

This is a retelling or reimagining of the historical figure, Cleopatra

Geekerella by Ashley Boston

This is a Pop Culture Retelling of Cinderella

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

This is a prequel retelling of Alice in Wonderland focusing on the backstory of the Queen of Hearts.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

This one is a little bit of a stretch but I am going to count it as it is a (kind of) retelling of Sherlock Holmes.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

This one is interesting. I am going to say it is a little bit a retelling of Hades and Persephone with Indian Mythology.

 

alb-divider

 

Debut Author Challenge:

 

The aim of this challenge is pretty self explanatory, it is to read debut books in 2017 and find some amazing new voices. In January I read on book by a debut author.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

 

alb-divider

 

Color Coded Reading Challenge:

 

There are nine prompts in this challenge all focused on the colour of the cover of a book. I decided to focus on one a month. In January I focused on:

A book with “Blue” or any shade of blue

The book that met this prompt was

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

 

alb-divider

 

Popsugar Challenge:

 

There are 52 prompts in this challenge and I am aiming to complete at least four of them a month and work my way through.

 

In January I completed five of the challenges:

 

A Book That’s Published in 2017 – Caraval by Stephanie Garber

A Book By An Author From A Country You’ve Never Visited – What Light by Jay Asher

A Novel Set During Wartime – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

A Book Where the Main Character is A Different Ethnicity To You – Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

The First Book In A Series You Haven’t Read Before – The Deal by Elle Kennedy

 

alb-divider

 

Diversity Bingo:

 

This is a 36 square bingo sheet with each square representing a challenge to encourage people to read diversely. In January I completed four of the challenges:

 

Non Western (Real World) Setting: Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley

Own Voices – Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

Book By Author of Color – The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Immigrant or Refugee Main Character – The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

 

alb-divider

 

Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge:

 

I read 12 Contemporary Romances in 2017:

 

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover, The Deal by Elle Kennedy, Playing Pretend by Julianna Haygert, Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley, Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley, What Light by Jay Asher, Holding Court by K.C. Held, Lick by Kylie Scott, Geekerella by Ashley Poston, Living in the Shallows by Tani Hanes, Wallbanger by Alice Clayton, The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon.

 

alb-divider

 

Around the Year in 52 Books:

 

I completed 8 out of the 52 challenges in January:

 

A book with at least 2 perspectives (multiple points of view) – The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

A book you meant to read in 2016 – Heartless by Marissa Meyer

A title that doesn’t contain the letter “E” – Holding Court by K.C. Held

A historical fiction – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

A book about a famous historical figure – Cleo by Lucy Coats

A book where one of the main characters is royalty – Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

A book published in 2017 – Caraval by Stephanie Garber

A book with a one-word title – Anomalies by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman

 

 

alb-divider

 

#Rock My TBR:

 

My aim for this challenge is to read at least one book from my TBR each month. For the book to count it must have been purchased before 2017. In January I read 6 books for #RockmyTBR

Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins, The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, Words in Deep Blue by Cath CrowleyFantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst, and The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon.

 

alb-divider

 

Flights of Fantasy Challenge:

 

I am aiming to read a minimum of 24 Fantasy books in 2017. In January I read  10 Fantasy books:

 

Cleo by Lucy Coats, Heartless by Marissa Meyer, Caraval by Stephanie Garber, Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon, When Ash Rains Down by Cecelia Earl, Greta and the Goblin King by Chloe Jacobs, Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst, Pleasure Unbound by Larissa Ione, Frost by Kaitlyn Davis, and The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chockshi.

 

alb-divider

 

Audiobook Challenge:

I finished one audiobook in January:

 

Anomalies by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman

 

alb-divider

 

Netgalley & Eidleweiss Challenge:

 

I read five e-galleys in January:

 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber, The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley, Geekerella by Ashley Poston, and Noteworthy by Riley Redgate.

 

alb-divider

 

Creature Feature:

 

This is a personal challenge of mine for 2017. Each month I have allocated a creature and I must read at least one book featuring that creature. In January the creature was – Demon.

 

The book that met this challenge was:

 

Pleasure Unbound by Larissa Ione 

 

alb-divider

 

New Adult Reading Challenge:

 

I am aiming to read at least 36 books in 2017. In January I read 4 New Adult books:

The Deal by Elle Kennedy

This counts for “Book About Sports” in New Adult Bingo

Lick by Kylie Scott

This counts for “One Word Title” in New Adult Bingo

Playing Pretend by Juliana Haygert

Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett

 

alb-divider

 

Aussie Author Reading Challenge:

 

In January I did not read any books by Aussie Authors.

 

alb-divider

 

Book To Movie Challenge:

 

None of the books I read in January are movies or will be movies in 2017.

 

alb-divider

 

Dystopia Reading Challenge:

 

I am aiming to read 6-10 Dystopian books in 2017. I read 2 Dystopian books in January:

Anomalies by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman

This counted for “One Word Title” in dystopia bingo

Jadeite’s Journey by Lucinda Stein

This counted for “Kickass Rebel” in dystopia bingo.

 

alb-divider

 

E-Book Reading Challenge:

 

I am aiming to read at least 50 e-books in 2017. In January I read 12 e-books.

 

The Deal by Elle Kennedy, Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett, Playing Pretend by Juliana Haygert, Pushing the Boundaries by Stacey Trombley, Geekerella by Ashley Poston, Living in the Shallows by Tani Hanes, When Ash Rains Down by Cecelia Earl, Jadeite’s Journey by Lucinda Stein, Noteworthy by Riley Redgate, Greta and the Goblin King by Chloe Jacobs, and Pleasure Unbound by Larissa Ione.

 

alb-divider

 

Epistolary Reading Challenge:

 

I did not read any epistolary books in January.

 

alb-divider

 

Graphic Novels & Manga Reading Challenge:

 

I did not read any Manga or Graphic Novels in January.

 

alb-divider

 

Library Love Reading Challenge:

 

I am aiming to read 50+ library books in 2017. In January I read 2 library books:

 

Cleo by Lucy Coats

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

 

alb-divider

 

New Release Reading Challenge:

 

I read one New Release in January:

 

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

 

alb-divider

 

Read Your Book Shelf Challenge:

 

I selected twelve books from my bookshelf and am aiming to read all of these books by the end of the year. In January I read:

 

The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi 

 

alb-divider

 

Finish Those Series Reading Challenge:

 

In January I Started 13 series

Greta and the Goblin King by Chloe Jacobs

Pleasure Unbound by Larissa Ione

Frost by Kaitlyn Davis

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Cleo by Lucy Coats

The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Lick by Kylie Scott

Living in the Shallows by Tani Hanes

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

When Ash Rains Down by Cecelia Earl

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

 

And Continued on 1 series:

Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett – This is book 2

 

alb-divider

 

There are a lot of challenges but I hope I can keep up with them by doing these monthly updates?

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

