REVIEW: LIVE THEATRE – JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT

 

image

With all the praise this show was getting I knew I had to make the time in my schedule to ensure I saw this production. I am so glad I did.

This theatre company has a knack for utilising minimal set in an effective way that conveys the story effectively. The lighting in this production deserves a special mention. The way it drew audience attention to certain details or conveyed the bars of Joseph’s cell was an element I particularly appreciated. There was not particularly use of levels in this production but downstage, upstage and centre stage were all utilised to ensure there was an abundance of activity on stage.

image

This would not be a musical without the suburb songs and vocal talent of the cast. I have never before seen Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat and wasn’t sure whether to expect a dry retelling, the hilarious and high energy production was not a disappointment in the least. A particular mention must go out to the song “One More Angel”. I did not believe my eyes when a Western / Country song began in a show that was set in Israel / Egypt. It definitely elicited a lot of laughs from the audience.
As the title suggests, this show has an abundance of colours. The costumer did not shy away from every single colour in the rainbow when preparing the different costumes that would be worn throughout the cast.

A cast of local youngsters made up the “Dream Chorus” which made for some beautiful harmonies behind the main actors. The part of The Narrator was brilliantly cast with an actress that is well known in the local theatre community and she was astounding with a voice that reverberated through the theatre, giving me goosebumps. The young actor who portrayed Joseph had big shoes to fill. His voice did not let out and the emotion convened during the songs had me thinking of Phantom of the Opera.

image

alb-divider

So, I love reading, watching TV Series and Movies, and live theatre. If you enjoyed this review let me know and let me know if you would like more reviews of live theatre events I attend.

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

