REVIEW: CARRY ON

 

carry on

 

PUBLISHER: St. Martin’s Griffin

 

DATE PUBLISHED: 06th October 2015

 

PAGES: 528

 

 

alb-divider

 

BLURB: 

 

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here — it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

 

alb-divider

 

REVIEW: 

 

How I love this book, let me count the ways. This ode to Harry Potter and fan fiction had me smiling at every single page. While the main idea of this book can be seen to be from Harry Potter this is it’s own book with its own plot and characters. The book left me slightly off balance the whole time I felt as though I was waiting for something that the author never quite revealed.

The characters in this book were dynamic and every one of them were interesting. Let’s talk Simon and Baz. These two just made my heart pound. Both characters were so great in their own ways and together they were perfect.

The pure silliness of the magical world was a great element. The spells were so simple, it did exactly as the title said, this made me giggle. That ending was not what I was expecting and you will just have to read it to see what I mean.

I loved the diversity in this magical fan-fiction world Rainbow Rowell has created and found this to be a light-hearted fantasy read I hated to put down.

🌟🌟🌟🌟

alb-divider

 

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

