TAG TUESDAY – TRY A CHAPTER TAG

 

 

tag-tuesday

 

It’s Tuesday again and that means it’s time for Tag Tuesday!

I am going to complete the

TRY A CHAPTER TAG

 

image

 

I have seen this tag done a lot as a video lately and I wondered whether it could be done as a blog post. So I’m going to try it and I am counting on you guys to tell me whether this worked and was understandable as a blog post. I think it will and I am really keen to give this a try.

The gist of this tag is to try a different way to pick the books to read. You pick five books out of your TBR that you re interested in. From those five books you read the first chapter of each book and then evaluate how much that first chapter has influenced you about the book. Based on this you pick out the top book that you will continue reading. I am going to change this last bit a little and rate the books in the order I want to read them. One being the top choice and five being the last choice.

As it is the end of April I have picked out books I have had my eye on for May. This will decide whether I give the book and shot and when I will read it. I am really interested to see how this will go. If it is successful I may try it again in the future.

 

alb-divider

 

THE BOOKS:

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

 

valiant

 

Shadow Run by Adrianne Strickland & Michael Miller

 

shadow-run

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

 

female of the species

 

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

 

bright smoke cold fire

 

We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen

 

we-are-still-tornadoes

 

 

alb-divider

 

MY THOUGHTS:

 

 

THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES BY MINDY MCGINNIS

 

image

 

This is an extremely short chapter at four pages. It appears that the book will follow multiple points of view. This chapter follows the point of view of Alex. The opening line really hooks you into the story – “This is how I kill someone”. The whole first chapter is explaining how Alex is planning to kill someone. It does not explain why she is going to kill someone and the chapter leaves many things open for a curious reader to continue on and find out what is happening in this book. I am intrigued and would like to know more about this character.

 

 

THE VALIANT BY LESLEY LIVINGSTON

 

image

 

This book had a first chapter of eleven pages, there was some decided world building in the chapter and exploration of the protagonist. The story was told in first person perspective and followed the main character as she attempted a war manoeuvre that had not successfully been completed in her village. The reader discovered that the main character is the daughter of the tribe’s King and her sister died in battle. She wishes to be a warrior above all else. There is a hint of romance in this chapter. Also, the mention of Caesar and chariots begins to set up the Ancient Rome setting which I am keen for. The beginnings of a solid book are taking place and I am keen to see how this fleshes out for the main characters and see her development through the book.

 

 

BRIGHT SMOKE, COLD FIRE BY ROSAMUND HODGE

 

image

 

The prologue and first chapter of this book follow Runajo. It begins with her stating that she is waiting for someone she has to kill. She is conflicted about this. The first chapter then jumps to Runajo explaining her home and the magical wall that protects them. This sounds like the author is world building and so far I like what I am reading. I am expecting big things from this Romeo & Juliet retelling.

We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

 

image

The first chapter is extraordinarily short at three pages. There is a picture of a short note at the beginning where Scott wishes Cath good luck at college and comments on her underwear. Next is a letter from Catherine to Scott in August 1982. This letter follows Catherine’s starting at Wake Forest University and sending a letter to her friend Scott. The reader gets a feel for the relationship between the pair and what type of person Catherine is. The fun tone of this correspondence between the two protagonists really interests me and I think I am really going to enjoy this book.

 

Shadow Run by Adrianne Strickland & Michael Miller

 

image

 

The first chapter of this book is eighteen pages long and it really sets up the crew of the ship and the concept of Shadow. I am really enjoying how this is setting up the plot. It appears that this book may be told from multiple POV and the first chapter was from the point of view of Nev.

 

alb-divider

 

MY RATINGS:

 

5. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge

image

I am extremely interested in this story and I want to see how it develops. I will aim to get to it soonish.

4. The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

image

I am extremely interested in a gladiator story. The first chapter was interesting and I will get to this book.

3. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

image

The concept of this book is something I am eager to get to. It sounds like a hard hitting book and the first chapters has left my interest piqued.

 

2. Shadow Run by Adrianne Strickland & Michael Miller

image

I am definitely in the mood for this type of a book and am keen for a space adventure. The first chapter has me biting at the bit to crack open this book.

1. We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

image

I loved the set up of this book being in letters, it is something different that I haven’t read yet this year. The snarky quality of the communication between the two protagonists has be ready to dive into this story.

alb-divider

 

I really enjoyed doing this tag. What did you think? Do you want to see me do this tag again? Let me know in the comments.

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

