REVIEW: ALEX, APPROXIMATELY

 

ALEX APPROXIMATELT

 

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster

 

DATE PUBLISHED: 06th April 2017

 

PAGES: 360

 

 

alb-divider

 

BLURB: 

 

Bailey “Mink” Rydell has met the boy of her dreams. They share a love of films and talk all day – Alex is perfect. Well, apart from the fact that they’ve never actually met… and neither of them knows the other’s real name.
When Bailey moves to California to live with her dad, who happens to live in the same town as Alex, she decides to use her sleuthing skills to find him. But tracking someone down based on online conversations alone proves harder than Bailey thought, and with her irritating but charismatic colleague Porter Roth distracting her at every turn, will she ever get to meet the mysterious Alex?

 

alb-divider

 

REVIEW: 

 

So many elements of this book fit together so well, I loved the light and fluffy feel of the book while it also gave a nod to films past. This retelling of You’ve Got Mail was a delightful contemporary read that I devoured.

Mixing in the messages of Alex and Mink (pseudonyms) with the general prose of the book kept the reader engaged in Bailey’s journey. The film quotes at the beginning of each chapter were a nice touch that left me with a smile each time I read one.

Bailey is an amazing character that I love so much. Picturing her riding around on her Vespa brings a grin to my face every single time. Porter is a character with layers and I enjoyed learning about each of them. His love of films, quizzes, surfing and annoying people made him a funny and charming character. As the relationship between Bailey and Porter develops the chemistry is undeniable. The banter these two engage in, Porter and Bailey are a great couple they fight as much as they get along. Ultimately they’re there for each other.

Amongst all the light-hearted rom-com of the book there are serious notes. I feel these just add to the book and give it more depth. In everyday life everything cannot always be  rainbows and it is good to see both the happy and sad translated into a contemporary novel.

This is an exceptional contemporary read that made me think of summers by the beach. I would recommend this for fans of Morgan Matson and Stephanie Perkins.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

alb-divider

 

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s