REVIEW: NOVEMBER 9

november 9

 

PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster

 

DATE PUBLISHED: 10th November 2015

 

PAGES: 307

alb-divider

BLURB: 

This is a love story between a guy (me) and a girl (Fallon).
I think.
Can it even be considered a love story if it doesn’t end with love?
Mysteries end when the mystery is solved.
Biographies end when the life story has been told.
Love stories should end with love, right?
Maybe I’m wrong, then. Maybe this isn’t a love story. If you ask me…I’d say this might even be considered a tragedy.
Whatever it is—however it ends—I promised I would tell it. So without further ado.

Once upon a time…I met a girl.
THE girl.

alb-divider

REVIEW: 

If I said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times, Colleen Hoover is a star! Her books are glorious and I must consume everything she has written and will ever write!!! Her characters have depth, they are complex and flawed. Just when you think you have learned everything you can about them… gut punch. Her books are heartbreaking, exhilarating and captivating all at the same time.

This book takes place over the course of years and days at the same time. Yep, this one makes you think. After Fallon and Ben meet on the anniversary of the day something devastating happened to Fallon (not going to tell you) and the day Fallon moves from LA to New York, they make a pact to meet up on November 9 each year. Because that one day was amazing and they can’t just say goodbye. No contact with each other between now and then. So ensues the longest and shortest slow burn romance in history!

Fallon is self-conscious and unsure of herself and ready for a new start. When she meets Ben (in a totally adorable and awkward way) the chemistry begins to bubble. Did I mention she is a reader? She is… gah. I have no words for how much I admire and love this character.

Ben has flaws of his own, but he helps Fallon to see herself as beautiful and amazing and someone with something to give the world. His story is just as full of heartbreak and as the years pass and the two continue to meet on November 9 that bubbling chemistry begins to boil.

There are not kind words in the dictionary for Colleen Hoover’s books. I am enamoured with her characters, her plot and the utter devastation and exaltation I felt while reading her books. November 9 was no different and I am so thankful that I have read it.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

alb-divider

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

Leave a Reply

