READING CHALLENGES UPDATE: MAY 2017

 

book

 

As my May 2017 Wrap Up was late so is my Reading Challenges Update. Let’s have a look at my progress on the multiple reading challenges I am participating in.

 

alb-divider

 

NETFLIX AND BOOKS CHALLENGE: 

 

In May I read one book that has been made into a TV Show and watched the first season of it on Netflix.

 

Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Zeigesar

 

alb-divider

 

PAGES READ CHALLENGE: 

 

This is all about keeping track of my Page Count for the year. My goal is to read 60, 000 pages this year. In the month of May I read 19, 503 pages.

 

This means I have completed this challenge. I am going to upgrade my level to

Redwood: 84, 001+ pages

 

alb-divider

 

RETELLINGS READING CHALLENGE: 

 

I love a good retelling so this challenge shouldn’t be a worry for me. My aim is to read 12+ retellings in 2017, that is one a month at least. In the month of May I read 4 retellings.

 

Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

 

 

alb-divider

 

DEBUT AUTHOR CHALLENGE:

 

The aim of this challenge is pretty self explanatory, it is to read debut books in 2017 and find some amazing new voices. In May I read one book by a debut author:

 

The Hidden Memory of Objects by Danielle Mages Amato

 

alb-divider

 

COLOR CODED READING CHALLENGE:

 

There are nine prompts in this challenge all focused on the colour of the cover of a book. I decided to focus on one a month. In May I focused on:

 

A book with any other color on the cover

The book that met this challenge was:

 

Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

alb-divider

 

POPSUGAR CHALLENGE:

 

There are 52 prompts in this challenge and I am aiming to complete at least four of them a month and work my way through.

 

A Book of Letters: We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

A book with one of the four seasons in the title: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A book about a difficult topic: Vigilante by Kady Cross

 

alb-divider

 

DIVERSITY BINGO:

 

This is a 36 square bingo sheet with each square representing a challenge to encourage people to read diversely. In May I read 1 book that met this challenge.

 

Practicing Jewish Main Character: The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

 

alb-divider

 

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE READING CHALLENGE: 

 

I read 20 Contemporary Romances in May.

 

Somewhere in Between by Samatha Harris, Easy by Jordan S. Gray, No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista, Size Matters by Alison Bliss, Dirty by Kylie Scott, Royally Screwed by Emma Chase, The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West, Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett, November 9 by Colleen Hoover, When It’s Real by Erin Watt, The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, No Second Chances by Kate Evangelista, The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan, Until Trevor by Aurora Rose Reynolds, Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira, Choosing Happy by Samatha Harris, Something in the Heir by Jenny Gardiner, Chance at Redemption by Samatha Harris, It Had To Be You by Lizzy Charles, and Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre.

 

alb-divider

 

AROUND THE YEAR IN 52 BOOKS: 

 

I completed 04 out of the 52 challenges in May.

 

A book that is a continuation of a book you’ve already read: Until Trevor by Aurora Rose Reynolds

An epistolary fiction: We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

A non-fiction book: In Order To Live by Yeonmi Park

A book set in a fictional location: Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

 

This means I have completed 25 out of the 52 challenges so far.

 

alb-divider

 

#ROCKMYTBR:

 

My aim for this challenge is to read at least one book from my TBR each month. For the book to count it must have been purchased before 2017. In May I read 12 books from my TBR.

 

Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegsar, Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk, Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West, November 9 by Colleen Hoover, Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira, Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan, The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, and Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

 

alb-divider

 

FLIGHTS OF FANTASY READING CHALLENGE:

 

I have completed my reading goal for this challenge. In May I read 16 Fantasy books.

 

Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty, Valentine by Jodi McAlister, Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke, To Betray My King by Kayla Lavan, Shadowland by Meg Cabot, Frogkisser! by Garth Nix, Once Upon A Dream by Liz Braswell, Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, Sins of the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon, The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine Corr & Elizabeth Corr, First Truth by Dawn Cook, Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney, Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, and Unblemished by Sara Ella.

 

alb-divider

 

AUDIOBOOK CHALLENGE: 

 

I finished 01 audiobook in May.

 

First Truth by Dawn Cook

 

alb-divider

 

NETGALLEY & EIDLEWEISS CHALLENGE: 

 

In May I read 09 Netgalley books.

 

Vigilante by Kady Cross

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo

When It’s Real by Erin Watt

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

No Second Chances by Kate Evangelista

Forget Me Always by Sara Wolf

It Had To Be You by Lizzy Charles

Come Sundown by Nora Roberts

 

alb-divider

 

CREATURE FEATURE:

 

This is a personal challenge of mine for 2017. Each month I have allocated a creature and I must read at least one book featuring that creature. In May the creature was –

 

Jinn – Genie

 

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

 

I did not finish this book in May, but will finish it in June.

 

alb-divider

 

NEW ADULT READING CHALLENGE:

 

I am aiming to read at least 36 books in 2017. In May I read 05 New Adult books.

 

Easy by Jordan S. Gray, Dirty by Kylie Scott, Royally Screwed by Emma Chase, The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan, Until Trevor by Aurora Rose Reynolds, and Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre.

 

03 of them met the challenges for New Adult Bingo:

 

Book Based on its Cover: Dirty by Kylie Scott

New To You Author: Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Book Recommendation: Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre

 

 

alb-divider

 

AUSSIE AUTHOR READING CHALLENGE:

 

I read 02 books by Aussie Authors in May.

 

Valentine by Jodi McAlister and Frogkisser! by Garth Nix.

 

alb-divider

 

BOOK TO MOVIE CHALLENGE: 

 

In May I did not read any books that are becoming movies in 2017.

 

alb-divider

 

DYSTOPIA READING CHALLENGE: 

 

In May I read 01 dystopian novel.

 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

 

For Dystopia Bingo, which is a part of this challenge this book meets the square “Swoon-Worthy Romance”.

 

alb-divider

 

E-BOOK READING CHALLENGE: 

 

I read 37 E-Books in May.

 

Forget Me Always by Sara Wolf, Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott, Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegesar, Somewhere in Between by Samatha Harris, Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty, Vigilante by Kady Cross, Easy by Jordan S. Gray, No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista, Size Matters by Alison Bliss, The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride by Kristen Painter, Royally Screwed by Emma Chase, To Betray My King by Kayla Lavan, Shadowland by Meg Cabot, Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett, When It’s Real by Erin Watt, Horizon by Tabitha Lord, No Second Chances by Kate Evangelista, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler, The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Coggs, The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan, Until Tevor by Aurora Rose Reynolds, Seize the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira, Groupie C.M. Stunich, Choosing Happy by Samatha Harris, Something in the Heir by Jenny Gardiner, Chance at Redemption by Samatha Harris, You’ll Think of Me by Lucia Franco, Princesses Don’t Get Fat by Aya Ling, Sins of the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon, It Had To Be you by Lizzy Charles, Hollywood Dirt by Alessandra Torre, The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen, Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney, Royce Rolls by Margaret Stool, Kissing in America by Margo Rabb, and Unblemished by Sara Ella.

 

alb-divider

 

EPISTOLARY READING CHALLENGE:

 

I completed 02 Epistolary novels in May.

 

We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun & Susan Mullen

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

 

alb-divider

 

GRAPHIC NOVELS & MANGA READING CHALLENGE: 

 

In May I read 01 Graphic Novel:

 

Saga Vol #1 by Brian K. Vaughn

 

alb-divider

 

LIBRARY LOVE READING CHALLENGE: 

 

I finished 02 Library books in May.

 

Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyk

With Malice by Eileen Cook

 

alb-divider

 

NEW RELEASE READING CHALLENGE: 

 

I read 19 books released in 2017 in May.

 

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott, Vigilante by Kady Cross, Easy by Jordan S. Gray, Valentine by Jodi McAlister, The Hidden Memory of Objects by Danielle Mages Amato, To Betray My King by Kayla Lavan, Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett, Frogkisser! by Garth Nix, When It’s Real by Erin Watt, The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, No Second Chances by Kate Evangelista, The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Coggs, The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan, Groupie by C.M. Staunch, Chance at Redemption by Samatha Harris, It Had To Be You by Lizzy Charles, Come Sundown by Nora Roberts, Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney and Royce Rolls by Margaret Stohl.

 

alb-divider

 

READ YOUR BOOKSHELF CHALLENGE: 

 

I have not read any of the books for this challenge in May.

 

 

alb-divider

 

FINISH THOSE SERIES READING CHALLENGE:

 

 

In May I started 28 series:

 

Gossip Girl by Cecily Von Ziegsar

Somewhere in Between by Samatha Harris

Nobody’s Goddess by Amy McNulty

Valentine by Jodi McAlister

Size Matters by Alison Bliss

Dirty by Kylie Scott

The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride by Kristen Painter

Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Half Blood by Jennifer L Armentrout

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

To Betray My King by Kayla Lavan

Shadowland by Meg Cabot

Horizon by Tabitha Lord

The Room Mate by Kendall Ryan

Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Groupie by C.M. Stunich

Reign of Shadows by Sophie Jordan

Something in the Heir by Jenny Gardiner

You’ll Think of Me by Lucia Franco

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Princesses Don’t Get Fat by Aya Ling

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine Corr & Elizabeth Corr

Saga Vol #1 by Brian K. Vaughan

First Truth by Dawn Cook

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Unblemished by Sara Ella

 

I continued on 08 series:

 

Forget Me Always by Sara Wolf

Easy by Jordan S. Gray

No Holding Back by Kate Evangelista

Once Upon A Dream by Liz Braswell

Until Trevor by Aurora Rose Reynolds

Seize the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Choosing Happy by Samatha Harris

Sins of the Night by Sherrilyn Kenyon

 

and I finished 02 series:

 

No Second Chances by Kate Evangelista

Chance at Redemption by Samatha Harris

 

alb-divider

 

REDDITS FANTASY BINGO:

 

This is a challenge that began in April. There is a bingo sheet and I aim to tick off each of the squares through the year. In May I completed 03 of the challenges:

 

FORMAT: GRAPHIC NOVEL (AT LEAST ONE VOLUME) OR AUDIOBOOK – Saga Vol #1 by Brian K. Vaughan

HORROR NOVEL – Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

NOVEL BY AN AUTHOR FROM AN R/FANTASY AUTHOR APPRECIATION POST – First Truth by Dawn Cook

 

alb-divider

 

I like these monthly posts as they help me keep track of my challenges and how I am progressing on them. I think I did relatively well with the reading challenges in May.

 

Keep Calm and Read On,

Kati

 

Leave a Reply

